• H&R Moderators: VerbalTruist | cdin | Lil'LinaptkSix

Lump in throat feeling?

gocats2009

Greenlighter
For about the past month I have had difficulty swallowing my food when eating, often getting the hiccups after the first bite and needing to take a drink or another bite to get the food to go down. I also have a persistent cough and I seem to always be trying to swallow even when not eating. I went to the doctor and tested negative for strep and was given a bottle of codeine syrup with a refill. This did nothing to help my swallowing and was wondering if anyone knew what this may be or the cause of this?

for background I am a daily marijuana smoker with only the occasional cigarette, and I dip grizzly tobacco not daily but off and on.

I would ask for a follow up with your doctor and inform him...maybe something is up with your esophogus? Causing the pain? Could be acid reflux or something related perhaps...I'm not a doctor or anything even close, just an idea...I would definitely go back to the dr especially since this has persisted for a month already.

Thanks for your input. Could this be a side effect of a pro longed cough. In november of this past year I had bronchitis that lasted about two weeks then a few weeks later I went back to the doctor and was diagnosed with the Swine Flu as many other people at my university. I am also 19 years old if that helps any...

Ah, maybe it is irritation then, I'm working on a masters straight after undergrad, so been in a university setting for 5 years now, and schools are a really dirty place, could be a beat up immune system that is having a hard time recovering...I feel like I've been victim to that, not taking care of myself while at school....happens to everyone.

The thing is, it's been a while since you were sick if this has just been the last month, was there a time it didn't happen in between? Or is this just continuous?